Utah Marijuana Penalties

There are no minimum sentences for marijuana-related offenses. However, the maximum penalties for marijuana-related crime in Utah can be quite severe. It is important that you understand the maximum penalties you could be facing.

Loss of Driver’s Licence

If you get caught with marijuana in Utah, you could lose your driver’s license for six months on a first offense! Even if it would not have been a violation in your own state, they are likely to honor Utah’s driver’s license suspension.

Marijuana Possession

In Utah, penalties for marijuana possession are based on the quanity possessed.

Possession of 1 ounce or less
Misdemeanor - The penalty imposed is up to 6 months in jail and a fine up to $1000.

Possession of more than 1 ounce and less than 1 pound
Misdemeanor - The penalty imposed is up to 1 year in jail and a fine up to $2500.

Possession of more than 1 pound and less than 100 pounds
Felony - The penalty imposed is up to 5 years in jail and a fine up to $5000.

Possession of more than 100 pounds
Felony - The penalty imposed is 1 to 15 years in jail and a fine up to $10,000.

Marijuana Sale, Trafficking, and Distribution

Any Amount
Felony - The penalty imposed is up to 15 years in jail and a fine up to $5000.

Any Amount in a Drug Free Zone*
Felony - The penalty imposed is still up to 15 years in jail and a fine up to $5000, but the charge is raised 1 degree higher.

Drug Free Zone: 1) anywhere if it is in the presence of a minor, or 2) any location within 1000 feet of a school, church, synagogue, public park, amusement park, recreation center, sports facility, theater, shopping mall, or public parking lot.

Marijuana Paraphernalia

Paraphernalia Possession
Misdemeanor - The penalty imposed is up to 6 months in jail and a fine up to $1000.

Paraphernalia Sale
Misdemeanor - The penalty imposed is up to 1 year in jail and a fine up to $2500.

Paraphernalia Sale to a Minor
Felony - The penalty imposed is up to 5 years in jail and a fine up to $5000.

You need an attorney with experience, knowledge, and expertise. The marijuana criminal defense lawyers at Greg Smith & Associates are experts at defending against marijuana charges. They are compassionate, and understand your shock. They are personally available by cell, text, and email. They will get you through this. Contact a defense attorney now at 801-651-1512 for a free consultation day or night, even on weekends and holidays.

DISCLAIMER: Although we do our best to keep the information on this site current, Utah’s laws are constantly changing. That means what you are reading represents our opinions only on the date they were submitted, and the laws may have changed since then, and sometimes those changes can be drastic. For that reason, you cannot rely upon what you are reading to be accurate when it comes to your legal matter. Please call us, so that we can discuss the facts of your current situation, and double check the status of the laws that apply to you. In other words, what you read here is not legal advice, and should not be relied upon. There is no attorney-client relationship until we have a signed agreement with you.

  • DISCLAIMER

    Although we do our best to keep the information on this site current, Utah’s laws are constantly changing. That means what you are reading represents our opinions only on the date they were submitted, and the laws may have changed since then, and sometimes those changes can be drastic. For that reason, you cannot rely upon what you are reading to be accurate when it comes to your legal matter. Please call us, so that we can discuss the facts of your current situation, and double check the status of the laws that apply to you. In other words, what you read here is not legal advice, and should not be relied upon. There is no attorney-client relationship until we have a signed agreement with you.

© 2015 UtahMarijuanaLaws.com. All Rights Reserved.

Website by Xenergy.net